Novak Djokovic and Caroline Wozniacki will receive $1 million winner's cheques if they repeat their triumphs at Indian Wells in 2012.

32803 - Djokovic & Co get seven-figure jackpot at Indian Wells

Officially called the BNP Paribas Open, the Indian Wells event is one of the most prestigious on the calendar and its reputation is set to expand further. Excluding the four grand slams, the Southern California tournament will become the first combined men's and women's competition to pay out $1 million to both winners.

Wednesday's announcement means the world's top players will be even more attracted to playing at Indian Wells, where the prize pot for 2012 will total a staggering £11.073 million. Even the losing finalist will pocket $500,000.

The tournament traditionally takes place in March and will begin on March 7 next year. Competition organisers expect attendances approaching the 400,000 mark.

Djokovic came from behind to beat Rafael Nadal in the 2011 final, while Wozniacki also needed three sets to defeat Marion Bartoli. Andy Murray exited at the second-round stage against Donald Young.