Celtic were crowned SPL champions for a 43rd time on Saturday after they thrashed Kilmarnock 6-0 at Rugby Park.

36645 - Super six from Celtic wraps up SPL title in style

Boasting an 18-point lead over rivals Rangers with six games remaining, Celtic needed just a point against Kilmarnock, but they wrapped up the title in style thanks to goals from Charlie Mulgrew (2), Glenn Loovens, Gary Hooper (2) and Joe Ledley.

Mulgrew took eight minutes to open the scoring, taking advantage of some poor marking at a corner to head home and settle Celtic nerves. The lead was doubled ten minutes later when Loovens chose a great time to net his first league goal of the season, arriving at the back post to convert Ledley's deep cross.

There was still time for two more by half-time, thanks to the classy Mulgrew, who cut inside Gary Harkins to curl into the bottom corner for 3-0 before he crossed for Hooper to make it 4-0.

Ledley then put the gloss on the result two minutes from time with a delightful chip, before Hooper attempted to overshadow his team-mate with a thumping half-volley.