cricket ICC championstrophy Pakistan ODI 9 30 2015 199121 l - Pakistan qualifies for ICC Champions Trophy 2017
DUBAI: The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Wednesday announced the top eight teams which will participate in the Champions Trophy 2017, to be hosted by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) from 1 to 18 June.

According to the ranking of the top teams announced by the ICC today, Pakistan made it at number 8, just making it to the teams qualifying for the 2017 tournament. The top eight teams in the world play the Champions Trophy.

With 90 points, Pakistan came just two points above West Indies who failed to make it to the top eight in the ICC ODI Team Rankings on the 30 September 2015 cut-off date.

Bangladesh made it to the tournament for the first time, ranking above Pakistan at number seven with 96 points.

The eight sides to play in the short and sharp, nation-versus-nation ICC Champions Trophy 2017 are: world champion Australia, title holder India, 1998 winner South Africa, 2000 champion New Zealand, 2002 co-winner Sri Lanka, host England, Bangladesh and Pakistan.

The ICC Champions Trophy 2017 will be a 15-match tournament, with teams split into two groups of four, with the top two teams in each group progressing to the semi-finals. The groups and the schedule for the ICC Champions Trophy will be announced shortly, the ICC said.

ICC ODI Team Rankings (as on 30 September 2015):

Rank Team Points
1 Australia 127
2 India 115
3 South Africa 110
4 New Zealand 109
5 Sri Lanka 103
6 England 100
7 Bangladesh 96
8 Pakistan 90
9 West Indies 88
10 Ireland 49
11 Zimbabwe 45
12 Afghanistan 41