Best Test player awards for Sehwag and Steyn

NEW DELHI: Cricket website Cricinfo has declared Indian batsman Virender Sehwag and South Africa’s Dale Steyn as the best Test players of the year 2008.

Sehwag has been declared the best batsman of the year for playing the Test innings of 201 against Sri Lanka while Steyn has become the best bowler of the year for his five-wicket match winning performance against Australia.

In One-day International cricket, Sri Lanka’s Sanath Jayasuriya and Ajantha Mendis have won the Cricinfo awards for the best batsman and the best bowler of the year, respectively.