Younis Khan, the Pakistan captain, and five other Pakistani cricketers, including Shoaib Malik and Shoaib Akhtar, have been released from their IPL contracts, Lalit Modi, the IPL chairman, said. The contracts of Shahid Afridi, Salman Butt and Mohammed Hafeez have also been terminated.
Modi said that the IPL franchises have, however, opted to retain the contracts of Umar Gul, (Kolkata), Misbah-ul-Haq (Bangalore), Kamran Akmal and Sohail Tanvir (Rajasthan). The ten Pakistan players had been barred by their government from taking part in the second IPL season starting on April 10 following a deterioration in cross-border relations after the Mumbai terror strikes. Subsequently, the franchises were given a choice of whether to continue their contracts with the players.