Awards announced for 21 foreign, 22 national personalities

ISLAMABAD: President of Pakistan has announced to give civil national awards to 21 foreign and 22 national personalities on the eve of the Independence Day.

According to details released from the Presidentís House, Hilal-e-Pakistan have been awarded to three foreign personalities while among other foreigners, Sitara-e-Pakistan has been awarded to one, Sitara-e-Imtiaz to six, Presidentís Award for Pride of Performance to two, Sitara-e-Quaid-e-Azam to three and Tamgha-e-Imtiaz to five persons.

Americaís senator John Kerry, General Liang Guangliei of China and secretary-general OIC Akmaluddin have been awarded Hilal-e-Pakistan for rendering friendly services for Pakistan.

For making efforts for peace in South Asia, late Nirmala Deshpande of India has been awarded Sitara-e-Pakistan.

Two national personalities have been awarded Hilal-e-Imtiaz by the President while Sitara-e-Imtiaz has been awarded to12 person, Presidentís Award for Pride of Performance to five and Tamgha-e-Imtiaz to three personalities.

Qudsia Bano and Asma Jehangir got Hilal-e-Imtiaz while Prof Ayesha Jalal, Prof Hasan Askari, Prof Rasul Bakhsh, late Santosh Kumar, Late Hanif Ramay, Rahimullah Yousufzai, Dr Javed Ghamdi, Allama Talib Jauhri and others have been awarded Sitara-e-Imtiaz.

Cricketer Younis Khan and Mehmood Sham of Jang Group have also been announced to be given the Presidentís Awards.