Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: ICC Under-19 World Cup draws announced

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Islamabad, UK
    1073 Post(s)
    9710 Thread(s)
    Rep Power

    Default ICC Under-19 World Cup draws announced

    ICC Under-19 World Cup draws announced

    NEW DELHI: Groups and players of the 16 teams in the ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup have been announced here on Thursday.

    Pakistan has been placed in Group D of the World Cup to be held in New Zealand next month.

    According to an Indian news agency, Group A will consist of India, England, Afghanistan and Hong Kong while Group B will comprise South Africa, Australia, Ireland and the USA.

    Group C includes New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe and Canada while Group D will have Pakistan, Bangladesh, West Indies and Papua New Guinea.

    Defending champions India are aiming to win the tournament for the third time, having previously won it in Sri Lanka in 2000 and in Malaysia last year.

    Pakistan and Australia are the other sides to have won the tournament twice each. Pakistan won back-to-back titles in 2004 in Bangladesh and 2006 in Sri Lanka while Australia lifted the trophy in 1998, when the event was staged in its backyard, and then in New Zealand in 2002.

    England''s only title came in South Africa in 1998 when it defeated New Zealand by seven wickets at the Wanderers.

    India opens its campaign against qualifier Afghanistan at Bert Sutcliffe Oval, near Christchurch, on the opening day of the competition on January 15, with Pakistan facing the West Indies in Palmerston North and 2008 beaten finalist South Africa taking on Ireland in Queenstown.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    108 Post(s)
    8578 Thread(s)
    Rep Power

    Default Re: ICC Under-19 World Cup draws announced

    Thanks 4 Sharing
    پھر یوں ہوا کے درد مجھے راس آ گیا

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts