Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: 26 Pakistan players register for IPL auction

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Islamabad, UK
    1073 Post(s)
    9710 Thread(s)
    Rep Power

    Default 26 Pakistan players register for IPL auction

    26 Pakistan players register for IPL auction

    KARACHI: Ninety-seven players, including 26 from Pakistan and several latterly with the ICL, have registered for the third IPL auction, which will be held on January 19.

    According to sources, fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar is not among the 26 Pakistani players who also include former test off-spinner Saqlain Mushtaq and Muhammad Asif.

    The list also includes four players from Associate countries - Rizwan Cheema and Khurram Chohan (Canada), Ryan ten Doeschate (Netherlands), Niall O''Brien (Ireland) - as well as former Zimbabwe nationals Murray Goodwin and Ray Price.

    Prominent among the players who were part of the unofficial ICL are Shane Bond, who recently retired from Test cricket, Damien Martyn, Chris Cairns, Saqlain Mushtaq and Justin Kemp.

    The Pakistanis - the current world Twenty20 champions - include Mohammed Aamer and Umar Akmal, and the list also includes the exciting West Indian Kieron Pollard.

    Merely registering, however, does not guarantee the player will be included in the auction list. The IPL will send the list of 97 names to the franchises who will then select those players they would like included in the auction. The selected players will be informed of their inclusion by January 5.

    The number of overseas players a franchise may have on its roster is capped at ten and at present it is unclear how many slots are available. In 2009, over 100 players registered for the auction out of which 50 went under the hammer to fill 17 available overseas slots. The IPL said it expected the number of places to be substantially lower this time.

    The registered Pakistani players are: Pakistan: Mohammed Aamer, Shahid Afridi, Shahzad Ahmed, Saeed Ajmal, Umar Akmal, Fawad Alam, Yasir Arafat, Mohammad Asif, Salman Butt, Imran Farhat, Mohammad Hafeez, Yasir Hameed, Faisal Iqbal, Asim Kamal, Danish Kaneria, Mohammad Khalil, Abdur Rauf, Khalid Latif, Azhar Mahmood, Shoaib Malik, Khurram Manzoor, Saqlain Mushtaq, Rana Naved-ul-Hasan, Imran Nazir, Abdul Razzaq, Mohammad Sami.

    Sri Lanka: Malinga Bandara, Indika de Saram, Chinthaka Jayasinghe, Thilina Kandamby, Chamara Kapugedera, Nuwan Kulasekera, Suranga Lakmal, Jehan Mubarak, Thisara Perera, Dammika Prasad, Muthumudalige Pushpakumara, Suraj Randiv, Rangana Herath, Gihan Rupasinghe, Upul Tharanga, Kaushalya Weeraratne, ChanakaWelegedara.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    108 Post(s)
    8578 Thread(s)
    Rep Power

    Default Re: 26 Pakistan players register for IPL auction

    Thx 4 Sharing
    پھر یوں ہوا کے درد مجھے راس آ گیا

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts