Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Australia set Pakistan 278-run target in 4th ODI

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Islamabad, UK
    1073 Post(s)
    9710 Thread(s)
    Rep Power

    Default Australia set Pakistan 278-run target in 4th ODI

    Australia set Pakistan 278-run target in 4th ODI

    PERTH: Pakistan were set a difficult target of 278 runs by Australia in the fourth One-day International here at the WACA ground on Friday.

    Winning the toss, Australian captain Ricky Ponting decided to bat first and his team made 277-8 in the allotted 50 overs.

    Pakistan were looking a better team this time with an improved fielding and their bowlers bowled quite well to dismiss four Aussie batsmen for 110 runs in 22 overs.

    However, Cameron White and Michael Hussey came to their rescue and they took the score to 159 before White went on 44.

    When James Hopes was bowled by Mohammad Asif for 16 and Australia were 190 for six then Nathal Hauritz joined Hussey and both blasted a brisk partnership of 80 runs from just 56 balls.

    Hussey made 67 off 75 balls with four boundaries while Hauritz was more aggressive to smash four sixes and a four. He remained unbeaten on 53, which he made from 39 balls.

    For Pakistan, fast bowler Asif was the most successful bowler with three wickets for 42 runs while off-spinner Saeed Ajmal claimed two wickets. Rana Naved-ul-Hasan and Shahid Afridi took one wicket each.

    Australia have already wrapped the series up 3-0 and are looking to press on for a whitewash against Pakistan who have so far not been able to win a single match on the tour of Australia this season.

    Australia made two changes in todays team, bringing in James Hopes and Peter Siddle in place of Shane Watson and Doug Bollinger while Pakistan have made only one change in their team as Rao Iftikhar Anjum replaced Umar Gul.

    Australia: Shaun Marsh, Brad Haddin (wk), Ricky Ponting (captain), Michael Clarke, Cameron White, Michael Hussey, James Hopes, Peter Siddle, Nathan Hauritz, Ryan Harris, Clint McKay.

    Pakistan: Salman Butt, Kamran Akmal (wk), Younis Khan, Mohammad Yousuf (captain), Umar Akmal, Fawad Alam, Shahid Afridi, Rana Naved-ul-Hasan, Rao Iftikhar Anjum, Mohammad Asif, Saeed Ajmal.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    108 Post(s)
    8578 Thread(s)
    Rep Power

    Default Re: Australia set Pakistan 278-run target in 4th O

    Thx 4 Sharing
    پھر یوں ہوا کے درد مجھے راس آ گیا

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts