Pakistan win toss, elect to bat against Australia

PERTH: In a bid to avoid the humiliation of a five-match whitewash by Australia, Pakistan will take the field with three changes in the team for the final One-day International here at the WACA ground on Sunday.

Surprisingly, Shahid Afridi is leading Pakistan in place of Mohammad Yousuf, who pulled out with an injured knee.

Afridi, captaining for the first time in a One-day International, has won the toss and elected to bat first against the Aussies who have already won four matches in the series.

Besides Yousuf, wicketkeeper Kamran Akmal and off-spinner Saeed Ajmal are also not playing today and these three players have been replaced by opening batsman Khalid Lateef, wicketkeeper Sarfraz Ahmed and allrounder Shoaib Malik

On the other side, Australia have made two changes: Michael Clarke and Peter Siddle are both out with slightly sore backs, and their places are being taken by Adam Voges and Mitchell Johnson.

Australia: Shaun Marsh, Brad Haddin, Ricky Ponting (captain), Cameron White, Adam Voges, Michael Hussey, James Hopes, Nathan Hauritz, Clint McKay, Ryan Harris, Mitchell Johnson.

Pakistan: Salman Butt, Khalid Lateef, Younis Khan, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Fawad Alam, Shahid Afridi (captain), Sarfraz Ahmed, Rana Naved-ul-Hasan, Rao Iftikhar Anjum, Mohammad Asif.