Aussies win toss, bat against Pakistan in T20

MELBOURNE: Australian captain Michael Clarke won the toss and elected to bat against Pakistan in the only Twenty20 International (day/night) here at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Friday.

Pakistan are playing under allrounder Shoaib Malik as Pakistan T20 captain Shahid Afridi has been banned for playing two T20 matches for ball biting incident.

Imran Nazir has returned to Pakistan lineup for today and Imran Farhat is making his YT20 debut.

Australia have also included two debutants - legspinning allrounder Steve Smith and left-handed batsman Travis Birt.

Australia: Shane Watson, David Warner, Michael Clarke (captain), David Hussey, Cameron White, Travis Birt, Brad Haddin (wk), Steve Smith, Mitchell Johnson, Shaun Tait, Dirk Nannes.

Pakistan: Kamran Akmal (wk), Imran Nazir, Imran Farhat, Umar Akmal, Shoaib Malik (captain), Khalid Latif, Fawad Alam, Naved-ul-Hasan, Mohammad Asif, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal.