Pakistan restrict Aussies to 127 in T20

MELBOURNE: Pakistanis are looking superb for the first time on the tour of Australia as they restricted the hosts to 127 runs in 18.4 overs in the only Twenty20 International (day/night) here at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Friday.

After Michael Clarke, leading the Aussies in the absence of Ricky Ponting, won the toss and elected to bat his team could not make any big score as expected earlier.

Pakistani bowlers bowled remarkably well and fielders did excellent fielding to bundle out the Aussies.

For Australia, except Michael Hussey (40 not out), Clarke (32) and David Warner (24), no batsman could enter into double figures as three batmen were run out by alert Pakistani fielders.

Umar Gul captured three wickets for 20 runs while Malik claimed two for 31. Pacers Mohammad Asif and Rana Naved-ul-Hasan took one wicket each.

The T20 world champions are playing today under allrounder Shoaib Malik as their T20 captain Shahid Afridi has been banned for playing two T20 matches for ball tampering.

Imran Nazir has returned to Pakistan lineup for today and Imran Farhat is making his T20 debut.

Australia have also included two debutants legs-pinning allrounder Steve Smith and left-handed batsman Travis Birt.

Australia: Shane Watson, David Warner, Michael Clarke (captain), David Hussey, Cameron White, Travis Birt, Brad Haddin (wk), Steve Smith, Mitchell Johnson, Shaun Tait, Dirk Nannes.

Pakistan: Kamran Akmal (wk), Imran Nazir, Imran Farhat, Umar Akmal, Shoaib Malik (captain), Khalid Latif, Fawad Alam, Naved-ul-Hasan, Mohammad Asif, Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal.