Pakistan hockey team announced for Azlan Shah Cup, European tour

4 22 2008 17155 l - Pakistan hockey team announced for Azlan Shah Cup

LAHORE: An 18-member Pakistan team has been announced for participating in the Azlan Shah Hockey Tournament and the tour of European countries while Zeeshan Ashraf will lead the team.

President Pakistan Hockey Federation (PHF) Mir Zafarullah Jamali and secretary national selection committee Khalid Mahmood along with the team management reviewed the players’ performance during the two-day trials at the National Hockey Stadium, Lahore and selected the team.

The players selected from the camp held at Lahore are Zeeshan Ashraf (captain), M. Imran (vice-captain), Salman Akbar, Nasir Ahmed, Kamran Ahmed, Mohammad Saqlain, Waqas Sahrif, Mohammad Javed, Rehan Butt, Shakeel Abbasi, Haider Abbas, Waqas Akbar and Shabbir while five players Mohammad Irfan, Mohammad Ateeq, Farid Ahmed, Mohammad Zubair and Shafqat Rasool are presently touring South Africa with the Pakistan Junior team.

President PHF Mir Zafarullah Jamali said that the team has been selected unanimously.

The newly-selected team will take part in the Azlan Shah Cup Hockey Tournament, to be played in Malaysia from May 8 to 18 after which it will go on the tour of Europe, which will continue till the last week of June.