Pakistan cricketers can play IPL-4

MUMBAI: Two new franchises will be included in the fourth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) after which the number of teams will be ten. Pakistani cricketers can also be entitled for participation in the event.

IPL commissioner Lalith Modi said that further two teams would take part in the next season of the event whereas Pakistanis would also be seen in action.

Talking with Geo News, Modi said that the two new teams would join the competition from the 2011 season, increasing the number of franchises to 10.

Lalit Modi said 12 cities were in contention, including four which will host games during the 2010 season.

Modi said tenders for the franchises could be collected from the Board of Control for India or IPL from 21 February and that bids would be opened on 8 March in Mumbai.

The cities in the frame are Ahmedabad, Nagpur, Kanpur, Dharamsala, Indore, Cuttack, Gwalior and Visakapatnam.

But Modi also indicated that Rajkot, Pune, Vadodara and Kochi, which are in the process of building stadiums, might bid for teams.

The new team franchises will be granted access to venues hosting matches during the 2010 IPL in order to familiarise themselves.

The 2010 IPL, which is the third edition of the 20-over tournament, begins on 12 March.