Sialkot lifts RBS T20 trophy yet again

KARACHI: Defending Champions Sialkot Stallions won the RBS Twenty 20 trophy for the fifth time in a row after beating Faisalabad Wolves by 5 wickets in the final showdown at National Stadium in Karachi.

Chasing 110, Stallions achieved the target in just 16.3 overs at the loss of five wickets.

Imran Nazir provided a brisk start to Stallions, hitting four and six on the first two deliveries before getting out on the next ball.

Naveed-ul-Hasan and Abdul Razzaq then chipped in with valuable 27 and 24 runs. While Shahid Yousuf 21 and Adil Malik 14 not out sealed the match for Stallions.

Saeed Ajmal and Shahid Nazir of Wolves bowled well but in the end the total was too low to defend.

Earlier, batting first, Faisalabad Wolves could manage only 109/9 in the allotted 20 overs.

The star performer of Saturday’s semifinal match against Lahore Lions, Muhammad Hafiz could not repeat his performance as the Faisalabad scored 109 runs.

Hafiz 29, skipper Misbah-ul-Haq 27 and Shahid Nazir 17 were the top scorers.

Abdul Razzak and Abdul Rehman got two wickets each to restrict Faisalabad Wolves to 109.