Sialkot Stallions completes five in a row in T20 Cup

KARACHI: Formidable Sialkot Stallions maintained their undisputed champion in shorter version of the game when they whipped Faisalabad Wolves by five wickets in the final of RBS T20 Cricket Championship on Sunday night.

Playing before a capacity crowd of 35,000 under dazzling lights at National Stadium, Sialkot overhauled, Faisalabad modest total of 109 in 16.3 overs.

Abdul Razzaq was Sialkot Stallions hero by taking wickets for 17 runs and scoring an enterprising 24 in 26 balls with four sizzling boundaries to take the man of the match award from Chairman Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Ijaz Butt.

Sialkot skipper Shoaib Malik received the glittering trophy and cash purse of Rs 2.5 million while Faisalabad captain Misbahul-Haq collected the runners-up trophy and Rs one million.

Like Faisalabad, Sialkot made shaky start by losing the wickets of Mansoor Amjad and Imran Nazir. But Razzaq and Rana Naved thrilled the crowed with few superb strokes.

Razzaq in attacking took four successive boundaries off Muhammad Talha''s third over.

Earlier, opting to bat first, before capacity crowd of nearly 35,000, Faisalabad Wolves were restricted to 109 for the loss of nine wickets in 20 overs thanks some tidy bowling Muhammad Asif and Abdur Rehman.

Asif picked an important wicket on the second ball of the opening over when opener Asif Hussain was bowled inside for one. Muhammad Salman was caught smartly at deep covers by Rana Naved off Razzaq to make Faisalabad 2-8 in ten balls.

However, Faisalabad suffered a big blow when their inform batsman Muhammad Hafeez was run out when backing-up off Rehman for 29. He struck two 6s and one boundary in 23-ball knock of 29.

Captain Misbah-ul-Haq made gritty 27 in 28 balls with three boundaries as Faisalabad failed to post challenging total for formidable Sialkot side.

Left arm spinner Abdur Rehman bowled tightly to finish with two wickets for 17 runs. But Razzaq who was twice hoisted for 6s by Hafeez took two for 37 in his four overs.



B>Faisalabad Wolves/B>
Muhammad Haeez run out---------------29
Asif Hussain Asif--------------------01
Muhammad Salman c Rana b Razzaq------05
Ali Waqas c Shakeel b Razzaq---------05
Khurram Shehzad lbw b Rehman---------06
Mibah-ul-Haq c Shahid b Sarfraz------27
Zeeshan Asif c Shoaib b Rehman-------02
Shahid Nazir not out-----------------18
Muhamad Talha b Rana-----------------07
Saeed Ajmal run out------------------05

Extras (NB-4, W-1)-------------------05

Total (for 9 wickets 20 overs)-------109

B>Sialkot Stallions/B>
Imran Nazir c Asif b Talah-----------10
Mansoor Amjad run out----------------00
Rana Naved-ul-Hasan c Asad b Saeed---27
Shahid Yousuf not out----------------21
Shoaib Malik c Saleem b Shahid-------01
Abdul Razzaq b Asad------------------24
Adeel Malik not out------------------14

Extras (LB-5, NB-4, W-4)-------------13

Total (for 5 wickets in 16.3 overs)--110

Result: Sialkot Stallions won by five wickets

Man of the match: Abdul Razzaq

Umpires: Zameer Haider Ahsan Raza

TV Umpire: Anis-ur-Rehman

Match Referee: Anwar Khan

Scorer: Salman Hussain Kazmi