Kiwis win final ODI but lose series to Aussies

WELLINGTON: New Zealand defeated Australia by 51 runs in the fifth and final One-day International, a day-night match in Chappell-Hadlee Trophy, at Westpac Stadium, Wellington on Saturday.

However, the hosts lost the five-match series 2-3 against Australia.

Put into bat by Australian captain Ricky Ponting, New Zealand made a moderate total of 241 runs for the loss of nine wickets in the allotted 20 overs.

Their main scorers were Scott Styris (55) and Daryl Tuffey (36). For Australia, Clint McKay and Mitchell Johnson claimed two wickets each.

Chasing 242, Australia could not resist the fiery bowling of Shane Bond and Tim Southee and were all out for 190 in 46.1 overs.

Shane Watson (53), Michael Hussey (46) and James Hopes (40) made significant contributions for Australia while Bond and Southee captured four wickets each for 26 and 36, respectively.

Kiwis made two changes for the fifth and final ODI as McKay came in for Ryan Harris, who is being rested ahead of the Test series and Nathan McCullum replaced James Franklin.

New Zealand won first ODI by two wickets whereas Australia won the second, third and fourth matches in a row.