England omit Prior for World Twenty20

LONDON: England have named uncapped batsman Michael Lumb and South Africa-born wicketkeeper Craig Kieswetter in a 15-man squad for the World Twenty20 tournament to be played in the Caribbean from April 30-May 16.

But there was no place for Mathew Prior, although Ravi Bopara and Michael Yardy both received recalls to a squad captained by Paul Collingwood.

"We believe we''ve picked a balanced squad that can meet the needs of the Twenty20 format - aggressive batting with variation and strength in depth and various bowling options that accommodate the conditions and surfaces in the West Indies," said Geoff Miller, England''s national selector.

"Our fielding, which is such a vital aspect of limited-overs cricket, has improved markedly and there''s no reason we can''t perform well in what will be a challenging global tournament."

Miller added: "On the recent tour of Bangladesh Craig Kieswetter showed what he is capable of in international limited-overs cricket and as a wicketkeeper at the top of the order he gives us options down the order.

"Craig has improved over time and his selection indicates real competition for places which is only healthy for the England team.

"Despite missing selection for this format of the game, Matt Prior very much remains in the England set-up and a part of our plans."

Miller said Lumb had "consistently performed well in limited-overs cricket for Hampshire and has also impressed during his time in the IPL and with the England Lions".

"As a powerful left-hander Michael adds aggression to our batting and has the ability to compliment the rest of the line-up," Miller said.

"Both Michael Yardy and Ravi Bopara have earned recalls to the England squad after going away and working hard on their cricket with excellent results."


Paul Collingwood (capt), James Anderson, Ravi Bopara, Tim Bresnan, Stuart Broad, Craig Kieswetter, Michael Lumb, Eoin Morgan, Kevin Pietersen, Ajmal Shahzad, Ryan Sidebottom, Graeme Swann, James Tredwell, Luke Wright, Michael Yardy