Ireland restrict WIndies to 138-9

PROVIDENCE: Minnows Ireland bowlers did a commendable job restricting hosts West Indies to 139 runs for nine wickets here in the second match of the ICC World Twenty20 here on Saturday.

Batting first after winning the toss, none of the West Indies batsmen could not make any significant contribution as the team lost nine wickets for 139 in the allotted 20 overs.

Their main scorers were Darren Sammy (30) and Ramnaresh Sarwan (24).

For Ireland, George Dockrell captured three for 16 while Andre Botha, Alex Cusack and Boyd Rankin took two wickets each.

Dwayne Bravo is captaining the West Indies side in absence of Chris Gayle, who was injured with stiff neck

West Indies went into this match without off-spinner Sulieman Benn and fast bowler Jerome Taylor as both had shoulder injuries, with Taylor also sidelined with a twisted

Ireland, coached by former West Indies batsman Phil Simmons, had no injury problems.

West Indies: Andre Fletcher, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Narsingh Deonarine, Dwayne Bravo (captain), Kieron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin (wk), Darren Sammy, Nikita Miller, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar Roach.

Ireland: William Porterfield (captain), Paul Stirling, Niall O''Brien (wk), Kevin O''Brien, Trent Johnston, Gary Wilson, John Mooney, Andre Botha, George Dockrell, Boyd Rankin, Alex Cusack.