Pakistan pile up 172 against Bangladesh

GROS ISLET, Saint Lucia: Pakistan set a difficult target of 173 runs for Bangladesh as the defending champions made the highest total so far in the third ICC World Twenty20
at the Beuasejour Stadium here on Saturday.

Batting first after captain Shahid Afridi won the toss, Pakistan scored 172 for three in the allotted 20 overs.

Pakistanís both openers Kamran Akmal and Salman Butt laid the foundation of the innings making together 142 runs for the first wicket. Both scored 73 runs each.

Salman smashed eight fours and two sixes in his 55-ball innings while Kamran hit eight fours and a six in his 46-ball stay.

For Bangladesh, captain Shakib Al Hasan claimed two wickets while Shafiul Islam took one wicket.

Pakistan are the defending World Twenty20 champions, having won the title by beating Sri Lanka in last year''s final at Lord''s.

For this match they chose to omit fast bowler Mohammad Asif.

Bangladesh have lost ten Twenty20 internationals in a row, their last win coming in September 2007 at the inaugural World Twenty20.

Pakistan have beaten their Asian rivals in all their three previous matches in this format.

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Mohammad Ashraful, Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Naeem Islam, Suhrawadi Shuvo, Shafiul Islam, Mashrafe Mortaza, Abdur Razzak

Pakistan: Salman Butt, Kamran Akmal (wkt), Mohammad Hafeez, Shahid Afridi (captain), Umar Akmal, Fawad Alam, Misbah-ul-Haq, Abdul Razzaq, Mohammad Aamer, Mohammad Sami, Saeed Ajmal.