Australia win toss and bat against Pakistan

GROS ISLET, Saint Lucia: Australia captain Michael Clarke won the toss and elected to bat in his side''s opening World Twenty20 match against Pakistan at the Beuasejour Stadium here on Sunday.

This was Australia''s first match of the tournament and, as widely predicted, they omitted specialist off-spinner Nathan Hauritz and opted for batsmen who could also bowl spin in the likes of captain Michael Clarke and David Hussey.

Pakistan were unchanged from the side that beat Bangladesh by 21 runs in Group A here on Saturday.

Australia: David Warner, Shane Watson, Michael Clarke (captain), Cameron White, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Brad Haddin (wk), Steven Smith, Mitchell Johnson, Shaun Tait, Dirk Nannes

Pakistan: Salman Butt, Kamran Akmal (wk), Mohammad Hafeez, Shahid Afridi (captain), Umar Akmal, Fawad Alam, Misbah-ul-Haq, Abdul Razzaq, Mohammad Aamer, Mohammad Sami, Saeed Ajmal.

Umpires: Asoka de Silva (SL) and Shavir Tarapore (IND), TV umpire: Marais Erasmus (SA).
Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SL).