Watson leads as Australia make 191 against Pakistan

GROS ISLET: All-rounder Shane Watson top-scored with 81 as Australia punished lax Pakistan fielding by making 191 all out in their opening Group A World Twenty20 match here on Sunday.

Watson, dropped on 11 by Misbah-ul-Haq at midwicket and missed by Misbah, running back at mid-on, both times off Mohammad Hafeez, struck four sixes and seven fours in his blistering 49-ball innings.

Together with David Hussey, he put on 98 in under nine overs for the third wicket.

Hussey dropped on 18 at long-off by Salman Butt, a relatively easy chance, went on to make 53 off 29 balls with five sixes and two fours.

Hussey was especially severe on seamer Mohammad Sami, striking him for 28 runs in the 16th over with the batsman striking four sixes, including three in a row.

Eventually Hussey holed out off Saeed Ajmal and, three balls later, Clarke was lbw to the off-spinner to leave Australia 164 for four in the 17th over.

There was though an extraordinary end to the Australia innings with five wickets going down for no runs in six balls during the last over from fast bowler Mohammad Aamer.

Brad Haddin was caught off the over''s first ball, Mitchell Johnson clean bowled off the second with both Michael Hussey and Steven Smith run out by direct hits from wicketkeeper Kamran Akmal as they tried to run byes.

Shaun Tait survived the fifth ball but was bowled off the last for nought.

Pakistan beat Bangladesh by 21 runs in their first match of the tournament here on Saturday.

First innings scoreboard
D. Warner c U Akmal b Sami 26
S. Watson lbw b Ajmal 81
M. Clarke b Hafeez 02
D. Hussey c Alam b Ajmal 53
M. Hussey run out (K Akmal) 17
C. White c Alam b Ajmal 09
B. Haddin c Sami b Aamer 01
M. Johnson b Aamer 0
S. Smith run out (K Akmal) 0
D. Nannes not out 0
S. Tait b Aamer 0

Extras (w1, nb1) 2

Total (all out, 20 overs) 191

Fall of wickets: 1-54 (Warner), 2-64 (Clarke), 3-162 (D Hussey), 4-164 (Clarke), 5-181 (White), 6-191 (Haddin), 7-191 (Johnson), 8-191 (M Hussey), 9-191 (Smith), 10-191 (Tait)

Bowling: Aamer 4-1-23-3; Hafeez 4-0-47-1; Sami 4-0-54-1 (1nb, 1w); Afridi 4-0-33-0; Ajmal 4-0-34-3
Toss: Australia

Pakistan: Salman Butt, Kamran Akmal (wkt), Mohammad Hafeez, Shahid Afridi (capt), Umar Akmal, Fawad Alam, Misbah-ul-Haq, Abdul Razzaq, Mohammad Aamer, Mohammad Sami, Saeed Ajmal

Umpires: Asoka de Silva (SRI) and Shavir Tarapore (IND)
TV umpire: Marais Erasmus (RSA)
Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)