Sri Lanka win toss, bat against Zimbabwe

PROVIDENCE, Guyana: Sri Lanka captain Kumar Sangakkara won the toss and decided to bat first against Zimbabwe in their World Twenty20 Group B match here at the Providence Stadium on Monday.

Sri Lanka, who needed to win to qualify for the second round Super Eights after losing the tournament opener to New Zealand by two wickets, suffered a huge blow before play began when star off-spinner Muttiah Muralitharan was ruled out of the rest of the tournament with a groin injury.

Suraj Randiv came in for Muralitharan and Thissara Perera, a medium-pace all-rounder replaced Chanaka Welegedara.

This was the first match of this World Twenty20 proper for Zimbabwe, who defeated both reigning champions Pakistan and Australia in warm-up fixtures.

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara (captain, wk), Dinesh Chandimal, Chamara Kapugedera, Angelo Mathews, Sanath Jayasuriya, Thissara Perera, Suraj Randiv, Lasith Malinga, Ajantha Mendis

Zimbabwe: Brendan Taylor, Hamilton Masakadza, Tatenda Taibu (wk), Craig Ervine, Elton Chigumbura, Charles Coventry, Greg Lamb, Graeme Cremer, Prosper Utseya (captain), Ray Price, Christopher Mpofu

Umpires: Billy Doctrove (WI) and Ian Gould (ENG), TV umpire: Steve Davis (AUS)
Match referee: Alan Hurst (AUS)