New Zealand win toss, put Zimbabwe into bat

PROVIDENCE, Guyana: New Zealand captain Daniel Vettori won the toss and put Zimbabwe into bat in their Group B match in the World Twenty20 here at the Providence Stadium on Tuesday.

The Black Caps retained the same side that beat Sri Lanka by two wickets in the tournament''s opening match on Friday.

Zimbabwe made two changes to the team that suffered a 14-run loss on the Duckworth-Lewis method in a rain-affected match against Sri Lanka here Monday.

Andy Blignaut replaced Brendan Taylor at the top of the order and leg-spinner Timycen Maruma came in for seamer Christopher Mpofu.

Victory for New Zealand would assure them of a place in the second round but Zimbabwe needed to win this match by a wide margin to have a chance of qualifying for the Super Eights out of Group B.

New Zealand: Brendon McCullum, Jesse Ryder, Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Scott Styris, Gareth Hopkins (wk), Jacob Oram, Daniel Vettori (capt), Nathan McCullum, Shane Bond, Tim Southee

Zimbabwe: Andy Blignaut, Hamilton Masakadza, Tatenda Taibu (wk), Craig Ervine, Elton Chigumbura, Charles Coventry, Greg Lamb, Graeme Cremer, Prosper Utseya (capt), Ray Price, Timycen Maruma.

Umpires: Asad Rauf (PAK) and Steve Davis (AUS), TV umpire: Ian Gould (ENG).
Match referee: Alan Hurst (AUS).