Afghanistan win toss, put Proteas into bat

BRIDGETOWN: Afghansitan captain Nowroz Mangal won the toss and elected to field against South Africa in the last group match in the World Twenty20 here at the Kensington Oval.

Both sides needed to win this match, after they each lost to Group C winners India, if they were to progress to the second round Super Eights.

South Africa dropped fast bowler Rory Kleinveldt and brought in experienced Charl Langeveldt in his place.

Mirwais Ashraf replaced paceman Dawlat Ahmadzai in Afghanistan''s line-up.

Afghanistan: Karim Sadiq, Noor Ali, Mohammad Shahzad (wk), Nowroz Mangal (captain), Asghar Stanikzai, Mohammad Nabi, Raees Ahmadzai, Samiullah Shenwari, Hamid Hassan, Shapoor Zadran, Mirwais Ashraf

South Africa: Graeme Smith (captain), Loots Bosman, Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Albie Morkel, Mark Boucher (wk), Roelof van der Merwe, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Charl Langeveldt.

Umpires: Ian Gould (ENG) and Simon Taufel (AUS), TV umpire: Billy Doctrove (WI)
Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SL).