South Africa win toss and bat against New Zealand

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados: South Africa captain Graeme Smith won the toss and elected to bat against New Zealand in a Super Eights match at the World Twenty20 at the Kensington Oval here on Thursday.

The Proteas made two changes from the side that beat Afghanistan by 59 runs here on Wednesday with veteran Herschelle Gibbs recalled in place of opening batsman Loots Bosman and off-spinner Johan Botha chosen instead of left-armer Roelof van der Merwe.

New Zealand were unchanged from the team that beat Zimbabwe by seven runs in Guyana on Tuesday.

New Zealand: Brendon McCullum, Jesse Ryder, Martin Guptill, Ross Taylor, Scott Styris, Gareth Hopkins (wk), Jacob Oram, Daniel Vettori (captain), Nathan McCullum, Shane Bond, Tim Southee

South Africa: Graeme Smith (captain), Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Albie Morkel, Mark Boucher (wk), Johan Botha, Morne Morkel, Dale Steyn, Charl Langeveldt

Umpires: Aleem Dar (PAK) and Steve Davis (AUS), TV umpire: Billy Doctrove (WI)
Match referee: Alan Hurst (AUS).