India win toss and elect to field against Australia

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados: India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to field against Australia in the teams'' opening Super Eights match of the World Twenty20 at the Kensington Oval here on Friday.

Australia made one change to the team that beat Bangladesh by 27 runs here on Wednesday with left-arm quick Mitchell Johnson, passed fit after an elbow infection, replacing stand-in Ryan Harris.

India made three changes from the side that beat South Africa by 14 runs last time out with opening batsman Gautam Gambhir returning from a stomach illness in place of Dinesh Karthik.

Batsman Rohit Sharma replaced leg-spinner Piyush Chawla and left-arm quick Zaheer Khan came in for fellow paceman Praveen Kumar, out of this tournament with an abdominal injury.

Australia and India have each won both of their opening two matches at this tournament.

Australia: David Warner, Shane Watson, Brad Haddin (wk), Michael Clarke (captain), David Hussey, Cameron White, Michael Hussey, Steven Smith, Mitchell Johnson, Shaun Tait, Dirk Nannes

India: Gautam Gambhir, Murali Vijay, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain, wk), Yusuf Pathan, Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra.

Umpires: Billy Doctrove (WI), Billy Bowden (NZ), TV umpire: Ian Gould (ENG)
Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SL).