Pakistan win toss, bat against South Africa

GROS ISLET, Saint Lucia: Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi won the toss and elected to bat against South Africa in a World Twenty20 Super Eights match at the Beausejour Stadium here on Monday.

The defending champions made one change from the side beaten by one run by New Zealand in Barbados on Saturday, with spin-bowling all-rounder Khalid Latif replacing fast bowler Mohammad Sami.

South Africa, who lost by 39 runs to England in Barbados on Saturday, also made one change with left-arm spinner Roelof van der Merwe replacing fast bowler Morne Morkel.

Pakistan had to win this match to have a chance of reaching the semi-finals, although they also needed England beat New Zealand in the final Group E match later here on Monday.

Victory for South Africa would guarantee England''s place in the semi-finals but leave the Proteas needing England to beat New Zealand to advance into the last four.

If New Zealand win, South Africa would most likely be out, unless they beat Pakistan by a huge margin and New Zealand only win narrowly.

Pakistan:Salman Butt, Kamran Akmal (wk), Mohammad Hafeez, Shahid Afridi (captain), Umar Akmal, Misbah-ul-Haq, Khalid Latif Abdul Razzaq, Abdur Rehman, Mohammad Aamer, Saeed Ajmal

South Africa: Graeme Smith (captain), Herschelle Gibbs, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Jacques Kallis, Mark Boucher (wkt), Albie Morkel, Johan Botha, Roelof van der Merwe, Dale Steyn, Charl Langeveldt

Umpires: Billy Doctrove (WI) and Ian Gould (ENG), TV umpire: Billy Bowden (NZ)
Match referee: Alan Hurst (AUS).