Sri Lanka eliminate India from World T20

GROS ISLET, Saint Lucia: Sri Lanka beat India by five wickets in a World Twenty20 Super Eights match here on Tuesday, a defeat that knocked India out of the tournament before the semi-final stage.

Sri Lanka, who have two victories in Group F, will go through to the semi-finals if Australia beat West Indies later on Tuesday.

India made a challenging total of 163 with Suresh Raina hitting a sparkling 63 after winning the toss but Sri Lanka timed their run chase perfectly.

Chasing a rather difficult target of 164, Sri Lanka needed three runs from the final ball when Chamara Kapugedara hit a huge six off Ashish Nehra to achieve a marvelous victory.

Kapugedara smashed an unbeaten 37 from only 16 balls with three towering sixes after captain Kumar Sangakkara and Angelo Mathews made 46 each and Tillakaratne Dilshan scored 33. Sangakkara and Mathew++++ three and two sixes, respectively.

For India, debutant pacer Vinay Kumar claimed two wickets for 30 runs.

Earlier, Suraish Raina hammered 63 from 47 balls with seven fours and a six while opener Gautam Gambhir made 41 off 32 balls.

Among others, captain Mahendra Dhoni remained not out on 23 while opener Dinesh Karthik and Yousuf Pathan made 13 each. Yuvraj Singh could score only one run.

For Sri Lanka, fast bowler Lasith Malinga and Thilan Thushara claimed two wickets each while Thissara Perera took one wicket.

India made three changes from the side that lost to the West Indies by 14 runs in Barbados on Sunday. They brought in opening batsman Dinesh Karthik for Vijay Murali, Vinay Kumar for fellow quick Zaheer Khan and leg-spinner Piyush Chawla for left-arm slow bowler Ravindra Jadeja.

Sri Lanka also altered the line-up that suffered a heavy 81-run defeat by Australia in Barbados last weekend. Spinner Ajantha Mendis, batsman Dinesh Chandimal and pace bowler Chanaka Welegedara have been replaced by left-arm quicks Thissara Perera and Thilan Thushara as well as seamer Chinthaka Jayasinghe.