West Indies win toss, bat against Australia

GROS ISLET, Saint Lucia: West Indies captain Chris Gayle won the toss and elected to bat against Australia in a World Twenty20 Super Eights match here on Tuesday.

Australia named an unchanged side while the West Indies brought in Narsingh Deonarine and Nikita Miller to replace batsman Wavell Hinds and pace bowler Kemar Roach.

Following Sri Lanka''s win over India in the day''s other Group F Super Eights match, West Indies needed to beat Australia by at least 24 runs to overtake the Sri Lankans and qualify for the semi-finals.

Australia were effectively already through, as only a highly unlikely and colossal defeat of some 150 runs would prevent them reaching the last four.

West Indies: Chris Gayle (captain), Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Narsingh Deonarine, Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Darren Sammy, Denesh Ramdin
(wk), Jerome Taylor, Nikita Miller, Sulieman Benn

Australia: David Warner, Shane Watson, Brad Haddin (wk), Michael Clarke (captain), David Hussey, Cameron White, Michael Hussey, Steven Smith, Mitchell Johnson, Shaun Tait, Dirk Nannes.

Umpires: Billy Bowden (NZ) and Rudi Koertzen (SA), TV umpire: Aleem Dar (PAK)
Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SL)