1st semi-final: Sri Lanka win toss, bat against England

GROS ISLET, Saint Lucia: Sri Lanka captain Kumar Sangakkara won the toss and elected to bat against England in the first semi-final of the World Twenty20 here at the Beausejour Stadium on Thursday.

England made one change to the side that beat New Zealand by three wickets here on Monday to cement their place in the last four.

Star batsman Kevin Pietersen, who missed that match to attend the birth of his son in London, replaced stand-in Ravi Bopara.

Sri Lanka, last year''s losing finalists, made one change from the team that knocked India out of the tournament in a five-wicket win here on Tuesday, with spinner Ajantha Mendis replacing seamer Thilan Thushara.

This match was the first time the teams had met in this tournament.

Defending champions Pakistan play Australia in Friday''s second semi-final, also at Beausejour, with the final taking place at Barbados''s Kensington Oval on Sunday.

England: Michael Lumb, Craig Kieswetter (wk), Kevin Pietersen, Paul Collingwood (captain), Eoin Morgan, Luke Wright, Tim Bresnan, Michael Yardy, Graeme Swann, Stuart Broad, Ryan Sidebottom

Sri Lanka: Mahela Jayawardene, Sanath Jayasuriya, Kumar Sangakkara (captain/wk), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Chamara Kapugedara, Chinthaka Jayasinghe, Angelo Mathews, Thissara Perera, Suraj Randiv, Lasith Malinga, Ajantha Mendis.

Umpires: Aleem Dar (PAK) and Simon Taufel (AUS), TV umpire: Steve Davis (AUS)
Match referee: Alan Hurst (AUS).